ADOPTED – Tessa

Hi, my name is Tessa. I know…I know….I’m cute right?Tessa 1

I came into care after not being looked after very well, and had no idea how to be a normal family dog until really recently. I lived in a kennel my whole life, then when I got to my foster family’s home and had to learn how to be a completely different girl. Luckily I have had so much love and support from my foster family and furry foster siblings, they are so patient with me and all my little quirks, and now they tell me I am ready to fill someone amazing’s heart with love.

I have a couple of little training issues that I have been working on with my foster mumma and dad. I used to be scared of everyone and thought the only thing to do was to bark and appear nasty, I’m working out that not everyone is all that bad anymore and I’m getting used to meeting new people. I can still get scared though so I need my new humans to be really patient with me and take things one step at a time.

I realllllly enjoy gardening, digging and sniffing are my favourite activities. I need to go for daily walks to help my confidence and stretch my little legs. I do like other dogs a lot, so it would be great if I have another doggy brother or sister in my new home, someone that is confident and can continue to help me with my progress, especially teaching me what those toy things are for, apparently they can be fun but I haven’t worked it out yet. I do need to be fed separate from my doggy friends, but these really nice people tell me that’s normal for doggies.

I do have a medical condition called Canine Macrothrombocytopenia which doesn’t really affect me, but does mean I need to be on a special diet and have a quick trip to the vets every 3 months for a little blood test to monitor my red blood cell count just to make sure the diet is doing its thing.

I really like being with my humans so would suit an amazing human or two who are home a lot, I don’t like spending too much time on my own. I really like to jump too, so a home with high secure fences is a must.

If you think you are the perfect humans for me please send these amazing rescue people an application to adopt me, I’d like to have Christmas in my forever home with amazing and understanding people.

Medical Condition: Canine Macrothrombocytopenia
Special Needs: specialty diet for lifetime, regular blood tests

Age: 6 Years
Adoption fee: $500
Desexed: Yes
Vaccinated: Yes
Wormed: Yes
Heartworm treated: Yes
Microchip number: 956000010269012

Tessa is in South Australia and is not available for interstate adoption